This page may contain affiliate links. This means that if you click a link and then buy a product from the linked vendor, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you.
This post has been quality checked in line with our Editorial and Research Policy.

Casper Element Mattress Reviews – 2019 v 2020 Models Compared

Hey. šŸ™‚

If you’re thinking about buying the Casper Element mattress then you may be wondering what the differences between the 2019 and 2020 models are.

That’s why I’ve put together this Casper Element mattress review and comparison guide to help you decide which version is best suited for your needs.

Ready to find out?

Casper Element Mattress Reviews

Woman Sleeping on a Casper Element Mattress.

Image source: stock photo used with permission.

The reviews below are quite lengthy so I’ll provide you with a very quick summary if you’re in a rush.

So basically, the 2019 version of the Casper Element mattress is suitable for front, back, and side sleepers in the 130 lbs – 230 lbs range whilst providing the best pressure relief for maximum comfort.

The 2020 version is less suitable for side sleepers in my opinion due to it being a firmer mattress but is probably better for you if you’re a warmer sleeper due to the ventilated foam comfort layers.

Both versions are likely unsuitable for sleepers over 230 lbs due to insufficient support from the all-foam design.

However, both models are good for couples due to the excellent motion isolation and lack of noisy springs, and may help to guard against allergies like hay fever by blocking the uptake of allergens into the material such as pollen and dust mites.

Check out my full Casper Element mattress reviews below for a full breakdown and comparison of both the 2019 and 2020 models.

Or click the button below to check the price for both the 2019 and 2020 models with options to buy now.

Design Analysis

The Casper Element 2019 model is an 11 inch, all-foam mattress that’s comprised of 3 layers of foam that’s topped with an upholstery grade cover that can be removed for easy cleaning.

The upper comfort layers contain memory foam – which means that when you lie on the mattress the materials will contour to your individual body shape better than the upholstered layers of a traditional innerspring mattress might.

The support layer is comprised of high density base foam to support your body and stop you from sinking too far into the mattress (to an extent – depending on how much you weigh).

The Casper Element 2020 model is a 10 inch thick, all-foam mattress that’s divided into 2 layers and includes a cover that’s also removable.

This comparatively simpler design sees the 2020 incorporate a singular comfort layer that’s made of perforated AirScapeā„¢ foam to increase airflow whilst adjusting to your body shape to keep you cool and comfortable.

Collectively, the all-foam construction and slightly thicker than average profiles make both mattresses well suited to average weighted sleepers – since very heavy sleepers may sink too far into the materials.

Depending on the retailer that you order from, you can potentially buy either model in the twin, twin xl, full, queen, king, and California king sizes.

Performance Analysis

To summarise, I think that both the 2019 and 2020 versions of the Casper Element mattress share many positive qualities such as their ability to provide contoured pressure relief for comfort, guarding against allergies, and helping to muffle the movements of your bed partner moving around at night – as well as being very quiet due to the absence of any springs.

However, I think that the 2019 model may have the slight edge when it comes to maximum pressure relief in the front, back, and side sleeping positions due to the precision moulding properties of the memory foam.

Whilst the 2020 model might be the best option for you if you’re a warmer sleeper because the top comfort layer is specifically designed to dissipate heat and encourage airflow through its aerated structure.

More details below.

1) Firmness

It’s crucial to note that the 2019 and 2020 models have different levels of firmnesses.

The 2019 model is listed as having a medium level of firmness – which means that it will provide the right amount of surface tension for back, side, front, and combination sleepers in the 130 lbs – 230 lbs weight range in my opinion.

This means that when you lie on the bed in any of those positions, you’ll sink slightly into the materials in order to take the pressure away from the more angular areas of your body such as your hips and shoulders – but without sinking so far in that you feel stuck in the mattress.

Conversely, the 2020 model is listed as having a ‘firm’ level of firmness.

This means that a sleeper in the same weight range and sleeping positions will typically sink LESS into the materials.

This means that the 2020 model is better for front and back sleepers because it will help you to keep your hips and spine aligned to guard against back pain – but is WORSE for side sleepers because you won’t be able to sink far enough into the mattress to remove the compression forces in prominent areas such as your shoulders and hips.

I’ll talk more about the best sleeping positions and body weight ranges for each model in the comfort analysis section below.

2) Support

The support for both mattress models is good in my opinion.

Because they each utilise high density base foam to provide support for your neck, spine, and joints by contouring to your body shape.

However, if you weigh more than 230 lbs then you may find the support starting to lack a little because of the greater downward force – especially in the case of the 2019 model which isn’t quite as firm – a hybrid or spring bed would be the solution here.

3) Pressure Relief

Again, both models should provide good pressure relief on the more angular areas of your body because they both utilise foam comfort layers.

However, I think that the 2019 model might have the slight edge here because it uses memory foam which is known for contouring more precisely to your exact body shape to provide a very snug feel.

4) Moving Around

If you’re under 230 lbs then moving around in these mattresses should be fairly easy due to the adequate firmness and denser support core which should provide some resistance when you place more concentrated force upon the materials such as using your hand to push yourself into the sitting position.

However, with these being all-foam mattresses then if you’re above 230 lbs you may find yourself getting a bit bogged down or experiencing sinkage – in which case a firmer hybrid bed might be better for you.

5) Noise

Both mattresses should be very quiet because of the complete absence of any springs.

However, make sure that you’re using a high quality base that’s well put together because this can still cause noise when under load.

6) Maximum Weight Capacity

I don’t know the maximum weight capacities for these mattresses so I assume that standard conventions apply here – with the twin sizes holding around 250 lbs and the queen, king, and Cal. king sizes probably being able to hold around 500 lbs in collective weight.

7) Couples

If you’re buying either mattress in queen and up then I think that both models are fair selections for couples – mainly because the all-foam design means that cross-mattress motion is better inhibited when compared to spring mattresses.

This makes for a more restful night’s sleep for you both because there’s less chance of you waking each other up as you shuffle around.

However, with these being all-foam mattresses, you might be better off choosing a hybrid mattress if you’re nearing the collective weight limit or one of you is more than 230 lbs because the extra downward force may cause the mattress to sag prematurely.

Similarly, if one of you is much heavier than the other and the lighter person is a front sleeper then they may experience back pain because the weight distribution bias may cause the mattress to become uneven under their hips – which can lead to painful hollowing of the lumbar region.

8) Edge Support

Although one of the biggest concerns with all-foam mattresses is their lack of edge support, this doesn’t appear to be a major concern for either of the Casper Element mattresses.

However, if you’re heavier than 230 lbs this may start to become a problem due to the extra capacity for compression.

9) Allergies

Although neither mattress is specifically listed as being hypoallergenic, the all-foam design means that ambient allergens like pollen and dust are less likely to become embedded in the materials – which could be just the job for you if you have hayfever or a dust mite allergy.

Also, this might be a reasonable mattress for you if you have sensitive skin because the foams used by Casper are CertiPUR-USĀ® certified [1] which means that they lack many of the harmful chemicals like formaldehyde which may cause skin irritation in some people.

10) Temperature Regulation

If you’re a warmer sleeper then you’ll probably want to go for the 2020 model because it has been specifically designed to help cool you down by using an aerated design via the AirScapeā„¢ foam to dissipate heat.

11) Keeping You Dry

I don’t think that either model does anything special when it comes to wicking away moisture.

So if you suffer from night sweats or tend to sleep hot then I recommend buying a set of cooling bamboo bed sheets because bamboo is excellent at soaking up moisture and pushing it towards the edge of the material where it can evaporate to guard against drenching and keep you comfortable.

12) Odour

Because these mattresses come in a compressed box then you should expect a ‘new’ smell when you open them as the particles that were trapped during packaging escape.

However, the good news is that because casper use CertiPUR-USĀ® certified foams that are low in VOCs – the primary culprits of this ‘off gassing’ phenomenon – then the smell should be lower in comparison to bed-in-a-box mattresses that do not use CertiPUR-USĀ® certified foams.

13) Pain Management

I think that both models have the capacity to help with managing pain because of their excellent pressure relieving qualities.

However, with the 2020 model being the firmer of the two, it will likely be better suited for back and front sleeping whilst the 2019 model might be better for pressure relief when sleeping on your side.

And because of their all-foam design, I think that you’ll probably be better off going for a hybrid mattress if you weigh more than 230 lbs to ensure you have enough spinal support.

Always make sure that you talk to your doctor before buying a mattress based on your health needs.

14) Cleaning and Maintenance

Both mattresses come with a removable and washable cover which makes cleaning and maintenance much easier.

However, you might want to invest in a mattress protector for extra safety, and I would buy a good quality fitted sheet to make cleaning even easier.

15) Price vs Value

I think that both models offer good value for money.

Because although the price point for the Casper Element may be above some of the rock-bottom budget options out there in the absolute sense, you’re still getting a bunch of features that should help you to sleep comfortably without breaking the bank.

Comfort Analysis

To summarise, I think that the 2019 model of the Casper Element mattress is suitable for front and side sleepers in the 130 lbs – 230 lbs range, and back sleepers in the 100 lbs – 230 lbs range.

However, I think that the firmer feel makes the 2020 model less suitable for side sleepers – but ok for front and back sleepers in the same weight ranges as the 2019 version.

For both mattresses, I don’t think that they are suitable for sleepers of any position above 230 lbs because all-foam mattresses typically tend to lack the right amount of support at those levels – a hybrid mattress would be a better choice in my view.

1) Front Sleepers

Due to their medium and firm levels of firmness, both Casper Element mattress models are well suited to front sleepers in the 130 lbs – 230 lbs weight range in my opinion.

If you’re heavier you might find the support somewhat lacking due to the all-foam design, whilst front sleepers under 130 lbs may find the mattress to be a bit on the firm side depending on your body shape/type.

2) Back Sleepers

It’s a similar story for back sleepers in both cases in my view.

I would say that both the 2019 and 2020 versions should be fine for back sleepers in the 100 lbs – 230 lbs weight range.

3) Side Sleepers

Things start to change if you’re a side sleeper in my opinion.

Because whilst I feel that the medium firmness of the 2019 version should be fine in the 130 lbs – 230 lbs weight range, I think that side sleepers in the same range will find the 2020 model a bit too firm on their shoulders.

4) Combo Sleepers

If you tend to change positions frequently during the night then both mattresses should be fine if you weigh below 230 lbs.

However, I think that the 2020 model will be slightly better for you because the added firmness should make transitioning between positions easier – just make sure that you’re not spending a lot of time on your side.

5) Edge Sleepers

If you’re the sort of sleeper that tends to hug the edge of the bed then I think the edge support should be sufficient if you weigh below 230 lbs – any more and sinkage could become a problem.

How Durable is the Casper Element?

I think that both versions of the Casper Element make for a fairly durable mattress.

Because Casper use high quality materials and ensures that the high density base support layer takes up a sizable percentage of the total mattress depth to guard against excessive sinkage.

However, all-foam mattresses tend to be less durable in an absolute sense when compared to hybrid beds of a similar thickness due to the more robust coil support core – an issue that is likely to be exacerbated if the mattress is being used near its maximum weight capacity and/or if one sleeper is putting much more pressure on one side of the bed than the other.

All things considered, I think that the Casper Element could last you somewhere in the region of 6-8 years with the right care but this is just a rough estimate.

Will the Casper Element Sag?

Although all-foam mattresses tend to be more liable to sag than high quality hybrid beds with a spring coil support core, I don’t think that the Casper Element will sag prematurely if you weigh less than 230 lbs.

However, I would recommend that you rotate your mattress once every 3 months to distribute the cumulate load to guard against indentations.

How Good is the Motion Isolation?

I think that the motion isolation for both models is very good due to the all-foam design which tends to soak up the shock waves better than spring mattresses typically do.

Is the Casper Element Quiet?

Yes, the lack of any spring components means that this bed should be very quiet.

Make sure that your base is correctly assembled to stop any squeaking coming from it.

What Are the Compatible Frame Types?

It’s recommended that you use the Casper Element mattress in conjunction with a solid platform frame or a slatted base that uses non-curved wooden slats spaced no more than 3-4 inches apart.

Can You Flip the Casper Element?

No.

Neither model should be flipped over because this would mean that you are sleeping on the denser support layers which would probably be pretty uncomfortable.

Is There a Sleep Trial?

Yes.

Depending on the retailer that you order from and your location, you may be eligible to try the Casper Element mattress for 100 nights to ensure that it’s right for you.

Is There a Warranty?

Yes.

Your Casper Element mattress is covered by a 10 year limited warranty.

Casper Element – 2019 vs 2020 Models Compared

Now that I’ve discussed the details of each version of the Casper Element mattress, I want to clearly juxtapose the performance metrics, pros, cons, and ideal sleeping positions for each model to make it easier for you to decide which one is the right choice for you.

Casper Element 2019Casper Element 2020
FirmnessMediumFirm
SupportGoodGood
Pressure ReliefVery GoodGood
Moving AroundFairFair
CouplesGoodGood
AllergiesGoodGood
Temperature RegulationFairGood
Pain ReliefGoodGood
Price v ValueGoodGood
Best Sleeping PositionsAll: 130 – 230 lbsFront + back: 130 – 230 lbs
Worst Sleeping PositionsAll: over 230 lbsSide sleepers + all over 230 lbs

2019 Pros

  • Medium firmness makes it suitable for a wider range of sleeping positions.
  • Memory foam comfort layer to provide more precise pressure relief on angular areas of your body.
  • 1 inch thicker than the 2020 model to better guard against sinkage.
  • May help to limit allergic reactions to pollen and dust mites.
  • Good at limiting motion transfer to help you both sleep undisturbed.
  • Very quiet.
  • Removable cover makes cleaning easier.
  • Good value for money.

2019 Cons

  • Will probably sleep warmer due to the inclusion of memory foam.
  • Unlikely to provide enough support if you weigh more than 230 lbs.

2020 Pros

  • Better for sleeping cool due to the aerated foam comfort layer.
  • May help to limit allergic reactions to pollen and dust mites.
  • Good at limiting motion transfer to help you both sleep undisturbed.
  • Very quiet.
  • Removable cover makes cleaning easier.
  • Good value for money.

2020 Cons

  • Firmer feel makes it less suitable for side sleepers.
  • Unlikely to provide enough support if you weigh more than 230 lbs.

Who Should Buy the Casper Element 2019 Mattress?

  • Front and side sleepers in the 130 lbs – 230 lbs weight range.
  • Back sleepers in the 100 lbs – 230 lbs weight range.

Who Should Avoid the Casper Element 2019 Mattress?

  • Sleepers over 230 lbs may find the support lacking.

Who Should Buy the Casper Element 2020 Mattress?

  • Front sleepers in the 130 lbs – 230 lbs weight range.
  • Back sleepers in the 100 lbs – 230 lbs weight range.

Who Should Avoid the Casper Element 2020 Mattress?

  • Side sleepers may find the mattress to be too firm.
  • Sleepers over 230 lbs may find the support lacking.

Which Casper Element Mattress is the Best?

I personally think that the 2019 version of the Casper Element is the best mattress overall because it can accommodate pretty much all sleeping positions in the 130 lbs – 230 lbs weight range – whereas the added firmness of the 2020 model makes it less suitable for side sleepers in my view.

However, mattress buying is a highly personal decision and you may find the 2020 version more suitable based on the pros and cons I’ve listed above – such as its propensity for better cooling.

Click the button below to check the price of both the 2019 and 2020 models with the options to buy them now.

What Are the Alternatives?

I hope that my Casper Element mattress reviews above have helped you decide if the 2019 or the 2020 version of this mattress is the best choice for you.

But if neither model is suitable for your needs then check out my own personal list of the best mattresses that you can buy online.


Sources and References

[1] CertiPUR-USĀ® – Companies Selling Products Containing Certified Foam. Accessed 2/4/20.

Leave a comment